Seaford Museum is housed in Martello
Tower no.74, which is situated at the eastern end of Seaford seafront. Nicknamed the Tardis
by its visitors, there is a deceptive 5,000 square feet of display area which includes the
roof with cannon, entrance floor with museum shop, the lower floor of the tower and the
covered dry moat area.
View Larger Map
The museum not only records Seaford's long history from its days as a
Cinque Port but also appeals to all age groups and all members of the family with displays
including shops, tableaux and a fascinating collection of material from pre-historic times to
the present day. There is a General Store, Dressmakers Parlour, the contents of toy, chemist,
ironmonger and photographer's shops as well as Victorian schoolroom, Victorian kitchen and
wartime kitchen. There are also collections of domestic appliances covering the first half
of the 20th century, office machinery from early typewriters and copiers to computers and a
particularly large collection of radios and television sets. There is a working model of
Seaford railway station in 1926, wartime memorabilia, two figureheads, information on
shipwrecks in the area and information on the changing coast including a video of the most recent sea
The Museum has a reference archive of pictures, articles etc. and a register of houses in the
town, which may be consulted by appointment.
It is easy to find the Martello Tower near
the cliffs on the seafront. Please note that the post code BN25 1JH
is for SatNav location only and not for mail. (See Contact)
Browse the pages listed in the left hand menu.