Seaford Museum is housed in Martello Tower no.74, which is situated at the eastern end of Seaford seafront. Nicknamed the Tardis by its visitors, there is a deceptive 5,000 square feet of display area which includes the roof with cannon, entrance floor with museum shop, the lower floor of the tower and the covered dry moat area.
The museum not only records Seaford's long history from its days as a Cinque Port but also appeals to all age groups and all members of the family with displays including shops, tableaux and a fascinating collection of material from pre-historic times to the present day. There is a General Store, Dressmakers Parlour, the contents of toy, chemist, ironmonger and photographer's shops as well as Victorian schoolroom, Victorian kitchen and wartime kitchen. There are also collections of domestic appliances covering the first half of the 20th century, office machinery from early typewriters and copiers to computers and a particularly large collection of radios and television sets. There is a working model of Seaford railway station in 1926, wartime memorabilia, two figureheads, information on shipwrecks in the area and information on the changing coast including a video of the most recent sea defence work.
The Museum has a reference archive of pictures, articles etc. and a register of houses in the town, which may be consulted by appointment.
It is easy to find the Martello Tower near the cliffs on the seafront. Please note that the post code to use for SatNav is BN25 1JH and is not the one for mail. (See Visit Us)
From late 2017 to late 2018 there were many interuptions to opening times and events while building work needed a reorganisation of displays, etc. Progress was shown on the series of Work Bulletins on the Home page.